I was watching one of my favorite films, Love Actually, and I was struck by one of the lines in the opening scene: “When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from people on board were messages of hate or revenge. They were all messages of love.”

I wondered: If I were in that situation, what would I say?

Then: Why wait?

The second Yama is satya, or truthfulness. The truth doesn’t always hurt. Sometimes we forget to tell our friends or loved ones how much we appreciate them. It’s too easy to let “thank you” or “I love you” become a habitual statement.

This led me to think about mindfulness, and how yoga cultivates it. In class, the world becomes smaller and more focused: the mat under your foot, the sweat trickling down your face, the breath expanding your lungs. Being present in day-to-day life makes it easier to appreciate the simple joys of another person’s company. Sincerely expressing this is another way of bringing your yoga practice off the mat.

Here’s a little more food for thought. If you were on the receiving end of that phone call, what would you want to hear? That you have an impressive bank account, and that you have a lot of nice stuff? Or do you want to hear that you’ve made a difference in your lifetime – that you matter – that you’re strong and loved?

If you haven’t said that to yourself… why wait? And if you want to change what you might hear, what’s stopping you?

I know what I’ll be hearing pretty soon if I’m not off the computer. “Um… honey? Is everything okay?” It’s time for me to go tell my patient, amused husband how much I appreciate his tolerance for a writer’s quirks and frequent use of the pause button.

~Nikki~

